Fisheries Society of the British Isles

The Council

Council currently comprises fourteen trustees, four of whom are Honorary Officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer), who manage and implement the Society’s objectives, make strategic decisions and conduct business on behalf of the Society’s membership.

Members of Council, including Honorary Officers, may be nominated by any active member of the Society. They are elected for a four-year term at the Society's Annual General Meeting, which is held during the FSBI annual symposium. Officers may be elected for a second term of four years. No term of office may exceed eight years, and a one-year period must elapse before a member of the Society may be re-elected to Council. At least one member of Council is from a European country outside the British Isles.

Council meets in March/April and December each year, normally in London. The Society's finances are managed by the Finance committee, which is chaired by the Honorary Treasurer and includes the President and Secretary.

Council currently has four other committees, with each taking responsibility for an area of Society activity. These committees administer studentships and internships, research grants, travel grants, and publications matters, with each comprising a Chair supported by 2-3 other Council members.

Honorary Officers

President 2019-2021

School of Biological Sciences, Bangor University, Bangor, LL57 2UW, UK

Email: FSBI President


Vice-President 2019-2021

Institute of Biodiversity,
Animal Health & Comparative Med
Room 204 Graham Kerr Building
Glasgow G12 8QQ


Ian Winfield

Secretary 2017-2021

Email: FSBI Secretary

Honorary Treasurer 2013-2021

Bournemouth University, Poole, BH12 5BB, UK

Email: FSBI Treasurer

Council Members

Research Grants Chair (2016-2020)

University of Exeter, UK

Email: Research Grant Chair

Studentships Chair (2017-2021)

University of Glasgow, UK

Email: Studentships Chair

Travel Grants (2019 - 2023)

Marine Stewardship Council


Publications Committee (2017-2021)

Queen’s University, Belfast, UK

Council Member (2018-2022)

University of Salford, UK

Council Member (2018-2022)

Institute of Marine Research, Tromsø, Norway

Council Member (2018-2022)

Clyde River Foundation, UK

Council Member (2018-2022)

University of St. Andrews, UK

Research Grants (2016-2020)

Cefas Weymouth Laboratory, UK

Email: Research Grants Chair

Studentship Committee

Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS)

Travel (2017-2021)

Institute for Marine Research, Bergen, Norway

Travel Grants Chair (2019 -  )

University of Exeter, UK

Email: Travel Grants 

Research Grants (2017-2021)

Marine Biological Association, UK and University of Southampton, UK

Studentships (2016-2020)

University of East Anglia, UK

Guests of Council


The Journal of Fish Biology

Heriot Watt University, Lyell Centre, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, EH14 4AS

Email: Journal of Fish Biology

Newsletter Editor

Email: FSBI Newsletter

Social Media Coordinator

University of New Brunswick

Symposium Convenor 2020

Nottingham Trent University